I’ll show you mine if you show me yours

My big goal for 2015 was to start a blog.  Well, YAY for me because I accomplished it!  Nothing else productive may happen for the rest of the year.

Just kidding, I hope.

But really, so often I find myself with words, prayers, and stories bubbling up inside me and I am always wishing I had a place to write them down.  Because, chances are, some other mom feels the same.  Maybe we can relate, maybe we can encourage each other.  Maybe we can celebrate our battles won or maybe we can relate in our failures.  I know I’m not alone.

Unless you’re Rachel Zoe, being a mother is not always glamorous.  {If she offered to switch lives for a day, I wouldn’t say no!}  It’s hard, messy, heartbreaking, and it brings out the ugly in us.  It’s frustrating to read any outlet of social media and see moms who look like they have it all together.  It makes me want to scream at them to just be real.  Just show us your mess, just tell us about your tears, your heartbreak.  Don’t misunderstand me, I LOVE seeing moms be awesome and strong and creative.  It’s inspiring.  There are so many moms I know that I wish I could be more like, they are God-given examples to me.

Let’s be real.  Sometimes the opinions and expectations of others stop me from putting my real, messy mom-self out there.  I’m not going to let that stop me anymore.  I am who I am, and I’m doing the best I can.  You are too, so let’s be real together.  Please?  I need this.  I bet you do too.  I’ll show you my mess if you show me yours.  And together, with the Lord, we’re gonna make it into something beautiful to present before Him.  Our best work.  We’re going to encourage each other, heap grace on each other, and then celebrate together because we’re awesome moms!  Awesome mom does not equal perfect mom.  Let’s be imperfect together.  Let’s encourage each other.

Our God, in His power and grace, gave us these children to raise for HIS GLORY.  Let’s do it.  He has gone ahead of us and prepared the way.  He walks along beside us and teaches us how.  He gives us creativity and wisdom and grace {have I said that word enough?}  Grace.  Let’s stop passing judgement on each other and embrace each other as mothers who are trying to please the Lord in everything we do.

I still have some work to do on the blog, but this is a start.  Join me?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/bf2/82045105/files/2015/01/img_0983.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/bf2/82045105/files/2015/01/img_1211.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/bf2/82045105/files/2015/01/img_1176-0.jpg

Leave a Reply

