Recipe: Sweet Potato Hash

In an attempt to eat healthier this pregnancy, I recently bought a boat-load of veggies at the grocery store.  Even more than I usually do.  It’s been a delicious week for sure!  I bought a bag of organic sweet potatoes also.  I love to make sweet potatoes simply by steaming them, mashing them, then adding butter and salt.  They’re perfect that way and make a great lunch or side dish for dinner. But yesterday, I was in a bind for dinner and after searching the kitchen, I realized I had the ingredients to make hash!  I found a package of pork-apple sausage I bought at the farmer’s market.  I always, I mean always have onions and I had some fresh rosemary in a pot outside.

Y’all, this sweet potato hash was gone in a few minutes.  You know who ate the most?  I think it was Silas (our pickiest eater!)  Micah was a close second.  It’s the perfect balance of savory and sweet.  It’s probably best lumped into the breakfast category, but it’s so hearty and filling that I made it for dinner.  It was perfect next to a bowl of fruit salad!


This dish takes a bit of prep, so it’s not something you can throw together at the last minute in ten minutes.  I’ll try to post more quick and easy recipes, but trust me, this is worth the time (and it really doesn’t take TOO much time.)  Besides, I find chopping, mincing, and caramelizing at the end of the day to be relaxing.  Anyone with me?

This sweet potato hash is a very clean-eating recipe.  Use local and organic, or don’t, if that’s not what you have.  Leave off the Parmesan if you don’t do dairy, BUT Parmesan is good on almost everything, y’all.  It was a healthy and filling meal for us all (especially for me, the one growing a baby!)


Please let me know if try this and what you think!

Here’s the recipe…enjoy!

Sweet Potato Hash

4 medium sweet potatoes, unpeeled

6 cloves garlic, minced

2 sprigs fresh rosemary, plus more for garnish

Salt to taste

Pepper, a generous helping

3 Tbsp olive oil

2 medium onions, sliced

1/2 lb. pork or chicken apple sausage

5 eggs (or one for each person you’re serving)

Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Cube the unpeeled sweet potatoes into bite size pieces and put into an ungreased 9×13 baking dish.  Mince the garlic and chop the 2 sprigs of Rosemary and throw these into the baking dish as well.  Sprinkle with salt and fresh ground pepper (be generous with the pepper!)  Toss all of this in the baking dish with the olive oil.  Put the baking dish into the oven for 25-30 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are tender and crisp on the edges.

While the sweet potatoes are in the oven, slice the onions into half moons and then halve them again.  Caramelize the onions over medium-low heat on the stove until they are browned and about one third of the volume they were before.  While the onions are on the stove, brown the sausage in a separate pan and drain it.

When the sweet potatoes are done, mix the onions and sausage into the sweet potatoes and make five small wells in the dish to crack your eggs into.  Crack an egg into each well and place the dish back into the oven for 8-10 minutes, depending on how well done you want your eggs to be.

When it’s all done, top it all with a generous helping of freshly grated Parmesan cheese and more Rosemary.

One thought on “Recipe: Sweet Potato Hash

Leave a Reply

