Things I’m loving right now

I feel a little weird about writing a post like this, like I’m being a little narcissistic and a little like Oprah.  (These are my favorite things!) The main reason I’m doing this post is because I truly love these things, maybe I can convince you to love them too (wink!) Also, it’s just fun!  I love when other people share their favorite things and what they’re into.

Before I jump in, let me make it clear that I am not advertising for any of these things and I am not making any money on these links.  I just love them and wanted to share!

  
Okay then, number 1.) My French press.  Y’all.  I’ve been making sub-par coffee for a long time now.  Micah and I bought an average, basic coffee maker a while back.  Mr. Coffee, I think.  It’s not that we don’t like it, it’s just that compared to the coffee the French press makes, the coffee just doesn’t even compare. I buy whole beans from Equal Exchange or Hawk and Horse (a local coffee company that roasts beans locally). I grind it and then throw it in the French press.  It’s amazing every time.  Heaven in a cup.  I look forward to waking up every morning just for this cup of beautiful coffee!  I have this French press but IKEA has one for only $9.

2.) Smoothies.  If I miss one for breakfast, I make one for lunch or a snack.  I feel like I’m starting my day right (gold star for me!), it gives me energy (I cannot eat carbs and sugar in the morning, or I will fall asleep by lunch). Also, it’s a great way to take some supplements because I just hide them in there.  Being pregnant, it’s important to me to have good nutrition.  There’s more and more research about the effect of mom’s diet on baby’s brain development.  (Having said that, if you follow me on Instagram and have seen all the sugary/carby things I’ve been posting…whatever.  Nobody’s perfect!) 

Here’s what I put in my smoothies: 2 cups of fresh spinach leaves, a handful of frozen strawberries, 1 whole banana, 1 cup of kefir or Greek yogurt, 2 rounded tablespoons of gelatin, 1 tablespoon of coconut oil, 1 teaspoon of cod liver oil.  

           
3.) The Skimm.  It’s a daily email newsletter that updates me on the goings-on in the world, but it’s written in a fun and concise way.  I’m not big on watching the news.  It’s depressing, honestly.  I HATE relying on Facebook to know what’s happening in the news (there’s just too many opinions flying around on there!) But I also don’t like being uninformed.  I love being updated by The Skimm.  It’s up to date, concise, and easy to read.  I read it with my coffee in the mornings.  Shout out to my favorite podcast (keep reading) for informing me about The Skimm!

4.) The She Reads Truth app.  Most of you probably already know about SheReadsTruth, but just in case…it is originally a website for women to get into Scripture daily.  It’s also an app and a friend turned me onto to this.  It’s so easy to pull up a new devotional every day, read Scripture, read words about it, and get involved in the She Reads Truth community (which I don’t really do, but some might really enjoy that part.) They have beautiful art and I love the studies that they’ve been doing (women in Scripture, hymns, they’re currently doing a study on the epistles and  I loved the Advent study at Christmas.) Also, they just made a HE Reads Truth app for the men.  

  
And now, for my most favorite thing.

5.) Podcasts!  Y’all, I’m not a huge music person.  I wish I was and I do like to listen to it sometimes, but most of the time I’d rather listen to some fun conversation, or a story, or advice, or something to inspire me as a mom.  Podcasts are where it’s at, y’all.  I love my podcasts!  I spend a lot of time during the day listening and talking to my children so I feel like listening to a podcast is grown up time and grown up conversation.  It makes folding the laundry, doing the dishes, and cooking dinner so much more enjoyable!  Lately, I’d rather turn on a podcast than a tv show.  Here are some of my favorites:

Sorta Awesome.  I think this is my favorite one! This is a light-hearted podcast that is so fun to listen to.  Megan Tietz used to be a blogger at SortaCrunchy, but she’s since stopped blogging and now she podcasts!  She has a beautiful radio voice and she and her co-hosts are almost always talking about something I need to know about!  

AfterBuzz TV Aftershow: Bachelor in Paradise/The Bachelor/ The Bachelorette.  AfterBuzz TV has podcasts for tons of shows on TV but I enjoy the ones about The Bachelor.  Yes, I watch The Bachelor (most recently, Bachelor in Paradise!)  #sorrynotsorry.  It’s my guilty pleasure.  This podcast discusses the show afterwards, has members of the cast on, and often talks about behind the scenes stuff.  Guilty, guilty pleasure.

The Influence Podcast.  This is put on by The Influence Network.  They interview influential Christian creatives, authors, and persons of interest.  It’s usually someone I’ve heard about online, I admire their work, I want to read their book, etc. so it’s always interesting and inspiring to listen to.

Inspired To Action.  I’ve been reading Kat Lee’s blog for years, and now she has a podcast!  Kat is very passionate about ministering to mother’s hearts.  She has guests on that share their unique stories on being a mother and many times I leave that podcast feeling like a rockstar mom, feeling inspired, and pumping my fist in the air.  A perfect podcast for a mommy pick-me-up.

The Simple Show.  From Tsh Oxenreider at Art of Simple.com.  This is another blog I’ve read for years, and podcast I’ve listened to for years.  Aaaand I’ve read both of her books.  Tsh interviews people from around the web and talk about their blog, their book, what they’re listening to, what they’re up to.  I enjoy it.

Spilled Milk.  “The show where we cook something delicious, eat it all, and you can’t have any!”  This is my most recent podcast to get into.  It is a foodie podcast, but I don’t think you have to be a foodie to enjoy it!  They’re just funny and fun to listen to.  

A couple that I haven’t gotten a chance to listen to yet, but I’d like to check out are The Popcast and Style Scouting.

Well, this was a super fun post to put together.  It definitely won’t be the last one like it!  I hope you mommies can get a little something from this post to make your everyday a little brighter.  Let me know if you do!  I’d love to hear.

Leave a Reply

