Dwell

“Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.” Psalms 37:3
I read this verse last night at the end of the first chapter of Own Your Life by Sally Clarkson and I have been mulling it over in my heart since I read it.

Dwell.  I love this word.  Webster’s dictionary defines it: to live in a particular place; to remain for a time; to live as a resident; exist, lie.  

I have this word hanging above our couch, written on a chalkboard.  I’ve had it written in our home for a few years now.  I originally saw it in The Nester’s living room and loved it so much that I wanted it in mine as well.  To me it means home, wherever that may be, with my people and doing what I love.

  
As I meditated on this verse, I thought of what “the land” is for me and what it means to dwell there and cultivate faithfulness.  For me, the land I am dwelling in is my home, as a stay at home, homeschooling mom of three, almost four kids.  I am deep into the years of raising small children, getting little rest, making lots of sacrifices, and having very little time for my personal dreams.  This my “land”.

My desire is that I dwell here with contentment and cultivate faithfulness.  For me, that means that day in and day out, I do my job with joy and do it unto the Lord.  

Preparing three meals a day with faithfulness. 

Teaching my children Scripture and prayer with faithfulness.  

Living out God’s grace and truth to my children and husband with faithfulness.  

Making my home a haven and sanctuary with faithfulness.  

Bedtimes, training, soothing, healing, playing, creating, encouraging.  

All faithfully.  

I desperately want the Lord to find me faithful at these tasks He’s given me.

Your land may look different than mine, but you have a land that you dwell in.  If we cultivate faithfulness, trust in the Lord, and do good, David goes on to say in verses 4 and 6, “…He will give you the desires of your heart” and “He will bring forth your righteousness like the light…”  Our land is not always what we pictured it would be.  Maybe we long for something different, we are desperate for change.  But this is it.  This is our land that we dwell in.  May the Lord find us faithful, content, and doing good with what He has given us in this season.

I pray that the Lord marks this verse on your heart like He has for me.  

Leave a Reply

